Early Week Watch List for Sep. 23-26

MLB

We are now well into the homestretch, as today begins the final week of the regular season. 5 of the “10” playoff spots have been secured, leaving the AL Central, NL Central, and the wildcards still up for grabs. We’re approaching this a little differently, because:

On Monday, nearly every game could have an impact on playoff berths or seeding. However, I’ll draw you in particular to
– Orioles at Rays, 3:10 PM ET/12:10 PM PT on MLB Network.
With a win today, the Rays would be only one game away form knocking the Orioles out of contention
Tuesday-Thursday the Rays head north to take on the Bronx bombers, as the Yankees cling to whatever slim playoff hopes they head left. Matt Moore will take on Hiroki Kuroda at 7:05 ET/4:05 PT. Wednesday’s game, also at 7:05 ET/4:05 PT will be on ESPN as part of Wednesday Night Baseball.

Again, there are no other matchups early this week between two teams who have either clinched or have legitimate playoff aspirations. We’ll keep you updated on MLB going forward.

Capital One Cup

Tuesday (all matches beginning at 2:45 PM ET/11:45 AM PT unless noted)

Aston Villa vs. Tottenham
Leicester City vs. Derby County
Manchester City vs. Wigan Athletic
West Ham United vs. Cardiff City
Fulham vs. Everton – 3 PM ET/Noon PT

Wednesday

Manchester United vs. Liverpool – 2:45 PM ET/11:45 AM PT on beIN Sport
The Red Devils will look to bounce back at home after the woeful performance Sunday against one of the better teams in the BPL through the first 5 matches. Also of note, of course, Liverpool are expected to welcome back star striker Luis Suarez.
West Bromwich Albion vs. Arsenal – 3 PM ET/Noon PT

Serie A

Tuesday – Udinese vs. Genoa – 2:45 PM ET/11:45 AM PT

A midweek round of Italian footy action presents us with a number of intriguing matchups on Wednesday, including…(all matches beginning at 2:45 PM ET/11:45 AM PT)

  • Chievo Verona vs. Juventus
  • Bologna vs. AC Milan
  • Napoli vs. Sassuolo
    An expected three points here would continue Rafael Benitez’s great run to start the campaign with Napoli, as each victory will continue the buzz around Benitez’s return to Italy.

(And on Thursday…)

  • Inter Milan vs. Fiorentina

German DFB Pokal

There is German cup tournament action this week as well, and of note on Wednesday:

Eintracht Frankfurt vs. Vfl Bochum – 1 PM ET/10 AM PT
Bayern Munich vs. Hannover 96 – 2:30 PM ET/11:30 AM PT

Ligue 1

Midweek footy action in Europe is also taking place in France this week. Tuesday gives us:

  • Lille vs. Evian Thonon Gaillard – 1 PM ET/10 AM PT
  • Marseille vs. St. Etienne – 3 PM ET/Noon PT

Wednesday (all matches at 1 PM ET/10 AM PT unless otherwise noted):

  • AC Ajaccio vs. Lyon
  • Bordeaux vs. Stade de Reims
  • Valenciennes vs. PSG
  • Bastia vs. Monaco – 3 PM ET/Noon PT

NCAAFB – FBS – Thursday

Virginia Tech vs. Georgia Tech – 7:30 PM ET/4:30 PM PT on ESPN
This early season conference battle pits 3-1 Virginia Tech against 3-0 Georgia Tech as both teams look to continue their early season momentum. After losing to No.1 Alabama, VT has reeled off three straight wins, including a triple overtime thriller against Marshall last week. Georgia Tech has spread their non-conference games throughout the season and heading into Week 4 rank fourth in the nation in rushing yards per game with 345.3.

Advertisements

About Dylan Jenkins

I'm a proud Seattlite currently living in Queens, NY. Outside of sports, I enjoy crime dramas - specifically police procedurals - as well as a wide range of music, everything from Top 40 to Iron & Wine, Bob Dylan & Rogue Wave. I am a cat person, which is to say I'm a human who enjoys felines. I have a tremendous sweet tooth that isn't very discerning, and I refuse to observe a number of unwritten social rules.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Sports Media and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s