Early Week Watch List for August 26-29

This is the third of a weekly series to be posted each Sunday, highlighting select events from the first part of the upcoming week in sports.

Soccer

Monday

EPL-Logo-1

EPL – Manchester United vs. Chelsea, 3 PM ET/12 PM PT (NBCSN – Arlo White, Graeme Le Saux)

Sunday’s action proved much more intriguing than Saturday, and Monday’s match is expected to continue that trend as one of the biggest rivalries in the football-ing world resumes at Old Trafford. After swooping Brazilian midfielder Willian from the clutches of AVB and Spurs, Jose Mourinho heads into Manchester to take on a Red Devils side that looked exceptional in their opener at Swansea. Keep an eye on Danny Welbeck, who was particularly masterful this past week.

Serie A – Fiorentina vs. Catania, 2:45 PM ET/11:45 AM PT

Serie-A-logo-201314

Fiorentina – who finished 4th in Seria A last season – play host to Catania, the 8th place team last season, in both teams’ season opener. After a solid finish last year that got them into the qualifying stage of Europa League, the home side will look to finish higher this season after replacing the departed Stevan Jovetic with Bayern Munich striker Mario Gomez. Gomez, along with Juan Cuadrado and Adem Ljajic will look to help the Viola finish higher than 4th this season. Also back with Fiorentina is Italian-American Giuseppe Rossi, finally back from injury. Catania, led by the former Chievo defender Rolando Maran, will bring an Argentine-rich squad to the Stadio Artemio Franchi. Led by Gonzalo Bergessio (13 goals, 8 assists across all competitions last season) and midfielder Francesco Lodi, Catania will also be looking for a quality start to their season.

La Liga – Granada vs. Real Madrid, 3 PM ET/12 PM PT, beIN Sport & beIN Spanish

Of note: This may be Madrid’s final match without Gareth Bale on the roster, as it is becoming more and more certain that the Welshman will join Ronaldo and the boys.

Tuesday

UEFA Champions League Playoff Round – Arsenal vs. Fenerbahce, 2:45 PM ET/11:45 AM ET, Fox Sports 1 (Arsenal leads 3-0 on aggregate)

Capital One Cup – all matches beginning at 2:45 PM ET/11:45 AM PT

english league cup

Burton Albion vs. Fulham

Leyton Orient vs. Hull City

Liverpool vs. Notts County, beIN Sport

Sunderland vs. Milton Keynes Dons

Tranmere Rovers vs. Bolton Wanderers

Bundesliga – SC Freiburg vs. Bayern Munich, 12:30 PM ET/9:30 AM PT, GolTV

Wednesday

UEFA Champions League – all matches beginning at 2:45 PM ET/11:45 AM PT

AC Milan vs. PSV Eindhoven, Fox Sports 1 (Tied 1-1)

Celtic vs. Shakhter Karagandy, Fox Soccer (Shakhter leads 2-0 on aggregate)

Real Sociedad vs. Lyon (Real Sociedad leads 2-0 on aggregate)

Capital One Cup – all matches beginning at 2:45 PM ET/11:45 AM PT

Everton vs. Stevenage, beIN Sport

Morecambe vs. Newcastle United

Nottingham Forest vs. Millwall

Thursday

UEFA Europa League Qualifying Round, Second leg.

Petrolul Ploiesti vs. Swansea City, 1:30 PM ET/10:30 AM PT (Swansea leads 5-1 on aggregate)

Fiorentina vs. Grasshoppers, 3 PM ET/12 PM PT (Fiorentina leads 2-1 on aggregate)

Tottenham Hotspur vs. Dinamo Tbilisi, 3:05 PM ET/12:05 PM PT (Spurs lead 5-0 on aggregate)

Baseball – Series to Watch:

Reds (74-57, 2.5 GB in NL Central, 2nd in WC) vs. Cardinals (76-54, T-1st in NL Central)

  • Monday, 7:05 PM ET/4:05 PM PT, ESPN – Dave O’Brien, Rick Sutcliffe, Aaron Boone, Tim Kurkjian
  • Tuesday, 8:15 PM ET/5:15 PM PT, MLB Network – Local Broadcast
  • Wednesday, 8:15 PM ET/5:15 PM PT

Athletics (72-57, 2.5 GB in AL West, 2nd in WC) vs. Tigers (77-53, 1st in AL Central)

  • Monday, 7:08 PM ET/4:08 PM PT
  • Tuesday, 7:08 PM ET/4:08 PM PT
  • Wednesday, 7:08 PM ET/4:08 PM PT
  • Thursday, 1:08 PM ET/10:08 AM PT, MLB Network – Local Broadcast

Orioles (70-59, 5.0 GB in AL East, 2.0 GB in WC) vs. Red Sox (76-55, 1st in AL East), Tuesday-Thursday, all games 7:10 PM ET/4:10 PM PT (Wednesday on ESPN, Thursday on MLB Network – Bob Costas, Jim Kaat, Tom Verducci)

Indians (71-59, 6.0 GB in AL Central, 1.5 GB in WC) vs. Braves (78-52, 1st in NL East), Tuesday-Thursday, all games 7:10 PM ET/4:10 PM PT (Thursday on MLB Network)

Note: Before too long, we may have some remarks on The Capitol One Cup (League Cup) in general.

-Dylan

Advertisements

About Dylan Jenkins

I'm a proud Seattlite currently living in Queens, NY. Outside of sports, I enjoy crime dramas - specifically police procedurals - as well as a wide range of music, everything from Top 40 to Iron & Wine, Bob Dylan & Rogue Wave. I am a cat person, which is to say I'm a human who enjoys felines. I have a tremendous sweet tooth that isn't very discerning, and I refuse to observe a number of unwritten social rules.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Sports Media and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s