Weekend Watch List

Consider this the first of many of our selections of what to watch in the world of sports. And without further ado…

Baseball 

Rays at Dodgers

 – Friday at 10:10 ET/7:10 PT on Sun Sports/Prime/MLB.TV. David Price (3.36 ERA, 16 starts, 89/15 K/BB) vs. Chris Capuano (4.16 ERA, 14 starts, 59/17 K/BB)

– Saturday at 4:05 ET/1:05 PT on FOX (Chris Myers, Eric Karros and Ken Rosenthal).  Roberto Hernandez (4.75 ERA, 21 starts, 93/28 K/BB) vs. TBD.

– Sunday at 8:05 ET/5:05 PT on ESPN (Dan Shulman, Orel Hershiser and John Kruk).  Jeremy Hellickson (4.77 ERA, 23 starts, 107/36 K/BB) vs. Clayton Kershaw (1.91 ERA, 24 starts, 166/37 K/BB).

Hershiser, Shulman and Kruk. Two former MLB players and a guy who apparently plays basketball. Who knew?

As of 5 ET on Thursday, this is slated to be a battle between the third best team in the AL and the fourth best team in the NL, based on winning percentage. The Rays trail the Red Sox by 2.5 games, but are three games above .500 on the road and have a 2.0 game lead on the first Wild Card spot. The Dodgers are coming home after a road trip that saw them extend their winning streak away from home to levels not seen in decades. This series feature two of the best pitchers in the game in David Price and Cy Young candidate Clayton Kershaw as well as two of the league’s best young bats, Will Myers and Yaisel Puig. Now is also as good a time as any for me to make it known how much I enjoy Vin Scully and his broadcasting. I firmly believe that not only is Vin great for his age, but he’s one of the best for any age, and a deserving Hall of Famer at that. You can expect me to rave about Vin quite a bit more as we go on.

It’s time for Dodger Baseball!

 Also of note: The surging Royals at the AL East leading Red Sox, Friday at 8:10 ET/5:10 PT on MLB.TV pits Jake Peavy against Ervin Santana. Saturday at 7:05 ET/4:05 PT on MLB.TV C.J. Wilson and the underachieving Angels will take on former ace Ubaldo Jimenez and the second place Cleveland Indians. Sunday at 1:05 ET/10:05 A.M. PT Justin Verlander and the AL Central leading Detroit Tigers will do battle with Andy Pettitte and the Yankees on TBS (Ernie Johnson, John Smoltz and Ron Darling.)

Soccer

Friday

– Montpelier take on defending league champs PSG and their new acquisition, Edinson Cavani as the Ligue 1 season starts off at 2 ET/11 A.M. PT on beIN Sport

– After winning the treble this past season, Bayern Munich will look to defend their Bundesliga crown as they take on Borussia Monchengladbach at 2:30 ET/11:30 A.M. PT on GolTV

Saturday

– Two of the top sides in England will finish off their respective preseasons as Manchester City takes on Arsenal from the Olympic Stadium in Helsinki at 10 A.M. ET/7 A.M. PT on beIN Sport.

– European giants Liverpool and Celtic play their final preseason fixture in Dublin at Noon ET/9 A.M. PT on beIN Sport.

– Two more European giants, fresh off the ICC tournament, will do battle at the Edward Jones Dome in St. Louis as Real Madrid takes on Inter Milan at 3 P.M. ET/Noon PT on ESPN3 and ESPN Deportes.

– Clint Dempsey will see his first action back in MLS as he makes his Seattle Sounders debut at Toronto F.C. at 7 ET/4 PT on Univision Deportes/Direct Kick/MLS Live/KONG.

– Also finishing off their time in the U.S. Chelsea and AS Roma will square off at RFK Stadium in Washington D.C. at 8 ET/5 PT on ESPN3 & ESPN Deportes.

Sunday

– Wembley Stadium in London plays host to the annual lid lifter of sorts as EPL Champion Manchester United take on FA Cup Champion Wigan Athletic in the FA Community Shield on Fox Soccer at 9 AM ET/6 AM PT.

– ESPN2 (Adrian Healey and Taylor Twellman) will have their MLS Game of the week as Blas Perez and FC Dallas take on Donovan, Keane and the LA Galaxy in a Western Conference showdown at 11 ET/8 PT.

– Prior to the Dallas/LA tilt though, ESPN will debut their brand new soccer studio show, ESPN FC at 10 p.m. on ESPN2.

 -Dylan

Advertisements

About Dylan Jenkins

I'm a proud Seattlite currently living in Queens, NY. Outside of sports, I enjoy crime dramas - specifically police procedurals - as well as a wide range of music, everything from Top 40 to Iron & Wine, Bob Dylan & Rogue Wave. I am a cat person, which is to say I'm a human who enjoys felines. I have a tremendous sweet tooth that isn't very discerning, and I refuse to observe a number of unwritten social rules.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Sports Media and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s